Manly 


Where do I start… Manly is up there with one of my favourite places on earth! Only a 20min ferry ride from Sydney’s Circular Quay, Manly certainly lives up to its name as the ‘Surf City’. It’s just so chilled here! For the majority of my time I found myself either lounging on a beach, chilling by Shelly pool or relaxing in a cafe with a chai latte. It’s the dream. As for the evenings, there is such a lovely, happening atmosphere; the beach fronts are lined with groups of people having a drink or enjoying a picnic. I even witnessed a group where someone was playing their guitar in a circle of their friends – a very stereotypically ‘gap year’ sight!

I was lucky enough to have my birthday in this amazing city; one I will never forget! I can now say that I spent my November birthday in the sun (which is a first, living in England). Joe arranged such a lovely day, which included snorkelling, where we spotted a sting ray, having a lovely lunch at The Boathouse on Shelly beach (one of the prettiest cafes I’ve ever seen), topped off with watching the sunset on the beach with a drink in our hands.

As Manly has adopted the name ‘Surf City’, it only seemed right that we gave surfing ago! Although I failed to stand up first time, I would love to practise and learn to master it. I have also fallen in love with paddle boarding as it’s so relaxing! At Little Manly cove, we paddle boarded over a turtle and a giant manta stingray.
Manly will be greatly missed! I would absolutely love to come and visit again in the future.

Leave a Reply

